Global Conference 2016

Speaker's Biography

Dennis Whyte

Director, Plasma Science and Fusion Center, MIT

Dennis Whyte is director of the Plasma Science and Fusion Center at MIT, where he also is a professor and head of the department of nuclear science and engineering. He is a recognized leader in the field of fusion research using the magnetic confinement of plasmas for energy production. Whyte has served as leader of the Boundary-Plasma Interface Topical Group of the U.S. Burning Plasma Organization and is a fellow of the American Physical Society. He has more than 300 publications and is a two-time winner of the Ruth and Joel Spira Award for Distinguished Teaching. He was awarded the Department of Energy's Plasma Physics Junior Faculty Award in 2003 and won the International Atomic Energy Agency's 2013 Nuclear Fusion Prize. In 2015, Whyte was an invited speaker at CERAWeek, the world's largest energy conference, and at the National Science Foundation's Engineering Distinguished Lecture. He has a Ph.D. from the Université du Québec, INRS.


Return to Speakers